National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Beaver Falls Grange Hall #554
Reference Number 15000852
State New York
County Lewis
Town Beaver Falls
Street Address 9577 Main Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/1/2015
Link to full file
Beaver Falls Grange Hall #554 (Town of Croghan, Lewis County) is locally significant for social history, agriculture, and architecture. The building meets Criterion A in social history and agriculture for its association with the late 19th/early 20th century development of community and agriculture in the Beaver River Valley. Membership in the grange appealed to progressive members of the second generation of Americans and German, French, and Swiss immigrants who were inheriting and improving family farms in this part of Lewis County. Unusual for the time, both women and children over the age of 16 were full members and full participants in the ritual and activities of the grange. The ritual supported the social objectives of the grange. Programs included educational lectures provided by local members, state Grange lectures, and the NYS Cooperative Extension; cooperative purchases of farm supplies and insurance; and entertainment to reduce the isolation of rural farm families.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria