National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Kettlefoot Fire Lookout Tower
Reference Number 15000833
State Tennessee
County Johnson
Town Mountain City
Street Address Fire Tower Road, Cherokee National Forest
Multiple Property Submission Name Tennessee Division of Forestry Lookout Towers, 1933-1975 MPS
Status Listed 11/20/2015
Link to full file
"The Kettlefoot Fire Lookout Tower is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) as part of the ""Tennessee Division of Forestry Fire Lookout Towers, 1933-1975"" Multiple Property Document under National Register Criterion A in the area of Conservation as a reflection of changing conceptions regarding forest management and fire control in the twentieth century. Additionally, the tower is eligible for the NRHP under National Register Criterion C in the area of Architecture as a good example of an Aermotor MC-39 fire lookout tower. The tower retains its original design features, and its historic setting has been preserved. The tower was constructed as part of the Tennessee Division of Forestry's (TDF) statewide efforts to protect forested land in the state through its fire control program. The period of significance begins in 1936, when the tower was constructed by the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC). The CCC was responsible for the construction and operation of the majority of the fire lookout towers built in the early twentieth century. The period of significance terminates in 1965, when Tennessee fire lookout towers were largely abandoned in favor of other methods of fire identification."

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria