National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Huger, Cleland Kinloch and Burnet R. Maybank House
Reference Number 15000705
State South Carolina
County Charleston
Town Charleston
Street Address 8 Legare Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/5/2015
Link to full file
The Cleland Kinloch Huger and Burnet R. Maybank House is eligible for individual listing in the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion B at the state level of significance in the are of Politics and Government. It is also eligible under Criterion C at the local level of significance in the area of Architecture. Built 1857-1858, the Huger-Maybank House is included within the boundaries of Charleston's Old and Historic District, but deserves individual listing both for its exceptionally preserved mid-nineteenth century architectural character and its associations with a significant statewide political figure in the 20th century, Burnet Rhett Maybank, mayor of Charleston (1931-1938), governor of South Carolina (1939-1941), and United States Senator (1941-1954). The Huger-Maybank House is one of the earliest Italianate-inspired dwellings to be constructed within Charleston and is an excellent and notable example of a substantial Italian Villa-style Charleston single house. The dwelling is also representative of Burnet Rhett Maybank's political career. It served as his primary residence during his formative years as a politician, and hosted significant people and events that are important in understanding Maybank's statewide political legacy.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria