National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Terrace Park and Japanese Gardens
Reference Number 15000566
State South Dakota
County Minnehaha
Town Sioux Falls
Street Address 1100 W 4th St
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 9/1/2015
Link to full file
Terrace Park is located northeast of downtown Sioux Falls. The historic core of the park is comprised of an upper section of open play and picnic space, a central section of earthen terraces built with stone steps leading down to an outdoor stage and garden gates, and the western section, Japanese gardens, that extend along the shore of Covell Lake, an oxbow lake of the Big Sioux River. Terrace Park is eligible for the National Register of Historic Places at a local level under Criterion A for Entertainment/Recreation and Social History. Terrace Park was one of the early parks established as Sioux Falls sought to develop cultural and recreational amenities attractive to its growing population. The new parks incorporated aesthetic landscape features designed by amateur caretakers and professional architects, but there were also athletic spaces for youth and adult recreation and cultural spaces for music and other performances. The social history of parks development indicated the city's desire to create facilities to meet the standards of their desired quality of life, and the use of Japanese aesthetics for the lakeshore gardens shows the depth and breadth of American interest in Japanese landscape design.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria