National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name French Walter H. Junior High School
Reference Number 14001097
State Michigan
County Ingham
Town Lansing
Street Address 1900 South Cedar Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/30/2014
Areas of Significance Education, Architecture
Link to full file
The Walter French Junior High School, with its polychromatic and ornamental Arts-and-Crafts influenced design that features Tudor-inspired detailing, is one of the three largest and most architecturally significant public school buildings built prior to World War II standing in Lansing, the others being Eastern and Sexton High Schools. The building was designed by Lansing-based architect Judson N. Churchill, who had a general practice but who appears to have specialized in school architecture during the early twentieth century. The school is the largest of his known buildings, which included several in Lansing and others located across the southern part of Michigan. The Walter French Junior High School also made important contributions to the field of education in Lansing with the development of a progressive curriculum. Despite major additions (made in 1957 and the 1970s), the school retains sufficient integrity to express its historical significance and is eligible for NRHP listing under Criteria A for its local significance within the field of education and Criteria C for being one of the largest and most decorative pre-World War II public schools buildings in Lansing.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria