National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Yellow Spring Mill
Reference Number 14001059
State WV
County Hampshire
Town Yellow Spring
Street Address Jct. of WV 259 & Cacapon River Rd.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/16/2014
Areas of Significance INDUSTRY, ARCHITECTURE
Link to full file
The Yellow Spring Mill is eligible for listing in the National Register under Criterion A: Industry for the significant role it played in the industrial history of the area. Its processing of grain and corn was an integral part of Yellow Spring's history. The complex is also eligible under Criterion C: Architecture as a locally significant grist mill complex which includes the transitional gristmill, miller's cottage, storage building, mill race, and mill ponds. The complex relates to the development of the small, crossroads community of Yellow Spring as the mill served as the nucleus of the agricultural community. The Yellow Spring Mill remains as a physical symbol of the agricultural nature of the community as well as its industrial evolution over time. The period of significance begins in 1896, the year it was constructed, and ends in 1964, the National Register's 50-year cutoff date, as the mill continued to be a significant contributor to the industrial history of the area through 1990 when it ceased operations. These dates reflect a period of growth for the mill and community as well as the span of years in which the complex was constructed.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria