National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Morgan West Wheatland Cemetery
Reference Number 14001044
State MI
County Mecosta
Town Wheatland Township
Street Address 55th Ave. between 10 & 11 Mile Rds.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/16/2014
Areas of Significance Ethnic Heritage/Black
Link to full file
The Morgan West Wheatland Cemetery meets national register criterion A as the largest African American burial ground in the Mecosta-Isabella-Montcalm County area, the site of a substantial Black settlement that began in the early 1860s. The half-acre original or Old Cemetery part of the grounds, in use since the burial of Ann M. Guy there in 1864, was formally donated for cemetery use by property owner Aaron Morgan in 1896. An additional two acres were added to the grounds in 1954. The Morgan West WheatbiIld Cemetery is the final resting place ofnumerous pioneer Blacks in the area and, in many cases, of several generations of their descendants.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria