National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Oakdale
Reference Number 14001041
State MD
County Howard
Town Woodbine
Street Address 16449 Ed Warfield Rd.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/16/2014
Link to full file
Oakdale is eligible for the National Register under Criterion B, being the lifetime home of Maryland Governor Edwin Warfield, who served from 1904 to 1908 and was the founder of the Fidelity and Deposit Company of Maryland which, in Warfield's time, was the largest surety company in the United States. Oakdale derives additional significance under Criterion C as a representative example of a family farm of the mid-nineteenth century in Howard County, through the surviving main block of the 1838 house and several of the outbuildings. Its subsequent evolution embodies the distinctive characteristics of a grand country estate of a man of business of the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries, run on the profits of modern business rather than on those of the farming operation itself. The additions to the house, the stable, and the landscaping, including the frog pond, are all indicative of this. Oakdale has an outstanding degree of integrity, retaining the vast majority of historic fabric that existed during Warfield's occupation. The period of significance, 183 8-1920, begins with the date of original construction of the house and ends with Edwin Warfield's death.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria