National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Stonebraker, John & Caroline, House
Reference Number 14001040
State IN
County Wayne
Town Hagerstown
Street Address 100 S. Washington St.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/16/2014
Areas of Significance Architecture
Link to full file
The Stonebraker House, c.1875, meets Criterion C for its architecture. Built of wood frame construction, the two-story house embodies the finer characteristics of a high-style Italianate house. Its asymmetrical, L-shaped plan; low hip roof; tall, narrow windows with pedimented lintels; richly ornamented bay window; and entablature with scroll brackets make it the most exuberant Italianate house in town. The builder used atypical materials: Dutch-lap wood siding with wooden quoins at principal corners, both to simulate masonry construction. Later additions and changes add to the complexity of the house: the owners replaced the porch in the 1890s with one likely ordered from a millwork pattern book; rooms were added to the rear that also used Italianate details, and lastly, some practical alterations in the 1920s made space for additional bathrooms and a breakfast room. The Stonebrakers were a pioneer family in Wayne County. John Stonebraker, first owner of the house, was a successful dry goods merchant, a Civil War veteran, and grandchild of two of the earliest Euro-American settlers of the area. John's wife Caroline (Stake) Stonebraker was originally from Ohio.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria