National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Richland
Reference Number 14000941
State Tennessee
County Grainger
Town Blaine
Street Address 1760 Rutledge Pike
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 11/19/2014
Link to full file
Richland, a rural farm that encompasses several historic resources dating from c. 1790-1940, is located off Highway 11-W in Blaine, Tennessee and is eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A for its local significance in the early settlement patterns and contributions to the social history and agriculture of Grainger County and Criterion C for its architecture. As a family farm that was established during the initial settlement of county, the farm district contributes to the larger historic agricultural context during the 1780-1850 period of settlement and subsistence farming in rural middle and east Tennessee along with the continued and progressive agricultural practices from the 1850s on up into the 1940s. The Lea House, a c. 1796 slave-built brick house, is eligible for listing under Criterion C for its architectural significance as an excellent example of an early Federal-style farmhouse in rural East Tennessee. Various historic architectural resources and landscape features illustrate the patterns of use and development that occurred on the land and helped shape the landscape over a period of more than 150 years of agricultural use.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria