National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name West Los Angeles Veterans Affairs Historic District
Reference Number 14000926
State California
County Los Angeles
Town Los Angeles
Street Address 11301 Wilshire Blvd.
Multiple Property Submission Name United States Second Generation Veterans Hospitals MPS
Status Listed 11/19/2014
Areas of Significance Politics/Government, Healthcare/Medicine, Architecture, Politics/Military, Landscape Architecture
Link to full file
West Los Angeles Veterans Affairs (West LA VA) Historic District is significant under criterion A for its association with Second Generation Veterans Hospital national context for the period 1923-1952. Four buildings from the NHDVS period (1888-1930), two of which are separately listed in the National Register (Chapel and Streetcar Depot), as well as the National Cemetery, contribute to the historic district. West LA VA Historic District is also significant for its Mission Revival architecture under criterion C. Integrating landscapes, open spaces, and streetscapes to create a pastoral environment, the historic district conveys a strong sense of time and place from its period of significance. Encompassing approximately 400 acres, including the National Cemetery, the historic district includes 64 contributing resources and 44 non-contributing resources in four discontinuous sections caused by construction of major thoroughfares and are linked historically.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria