National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Melrose Building
Reference Number 14000627
State Texas
County Harris
Town Houston
Street Address 1121 Walker
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 9/17/2014
Areas of Significance ARCHITECTURE
Link to full file
The 1952 Melrose Building at 1121 Walker Street in Houston, Harris County, Texas, was the first International Style skyscraper in the city. Built nearly six decades after the construction of the Houston's first skyscraper, the Melrose ushered in an era of sleek modernist design on the growing city's skyline. In line with national trends, Houston's earliest skyscrapers referenced traditional styles through Neoclassical or Gothic ornamentation and form, and after World War I, Houston architects began to design skyscrapers with relatively limited ornamentation inspired by the movements later described as the Art Deco or Art Moderne styles. Following World War II, however, the International Style became a predominant style for skyscrapers in the U.S., and while several such buildings were proposed for Houston developers, the 1952 Melrose Building was the first to be completed. Serving as an office building, the Melrose Building was well-received both locally and nationally. The building is nominated for listing in the National Register under Criterion C at the local level of significance as the city's first International Style skyscraper and for its association with Houston architects Lloyd and Morgan.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria