National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Hall of Records
Reference Number 14000543
State New York
County Westchester
Town Yonkers
Street Address 759 Palmer Road
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 9/3/2014
Areas of Significance COMMERCE, ARCHITECTURE
Link to full file
Constructed in three phases beginning in 1906, the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Hall of Records is significant under Criterion A for Commerce as the main off-site records storage repository for Metropolitan Life, the leading insurance company in the early 20th century. The building was constructed soon after the release of the Armstrong Committee report, a ten-volume inspection of the New York insurance industry that had long-lasting implications for Metropolitan Life's recordkeeping practices. The subject building is also significant under Criterion C for Architecture as a locally-significant work of prominent New York City architect D. Everett Waid, Metropolitan Life's company architect. He was responsible for the review of all drawings and specifications for the company's funded projects, which he applied to his design for the Hall of Records. In this role as Metropolitan Life's company architect, Waid exerted considerable influence over the speculative development of New York City in the early 20th century, even as he contributed his own high-profile commissions to the city's built environment, including the Long Island College Hospital in Brooklyn and Metropolitan Life's Home Office building on Madison Avenue. Waid's influence in the architectural profession also extended to his presidencies over both the New York State Board of Architectural Examiners and the American Institute of Architects.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria