National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Morrison Main Street Historic District
Reference Number 14000511
State Illinois
County Whiteside
Town Morrison
Street Address Roughly located between Orange Street, Lincolnway, Madison Street and the Union Pacific Railroad
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 8/25/2014
Areas of Significance Commerce, Architecture
Link to full file
The Morrison Main Street Historic District in Morrison, Whiteside County, Illinois, is locally significant under National Register Criterion A, in the area of Commerce, as a physical representation of Morrison's commercial evolution from a grain shipment stop along the Air Line Railroad (later the Chicago and North Western Railroad) in the 1850s to a vibrant local commercial and business center in the middle of the 20th century. The proposed district is further eligible under Criterion C, in the area of Architecture, as an intact collection of commercial buildings representing architectural styles from the mid-19th to the mid-20th centuries. Majority of buildings were designed with Italianate and High Victorian Eclectic influences. However, the district also includes examples of Romanesque Revival, Commercial Style, Classical Revival, Streamlined Classicism, and Modernism, as well as several vernacular commercial expressions from all eras. The district retains good density and integrity, and reflects the dominant architectural expressions of its period of significance.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria