National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Reynolds Building
Reference Number 14000494
State North Carolina
County Forsyth
Town Winston-Salem
Street Address 51 E. Fourth Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 8/19/2014
Areas of Significance INDUSTRY, ARCHITECTURE
Link to full file
The 1920s Reynolds Building in downtown Winston-Salem is significant at the statewide level and fulfills Criterion C as an icon of early twentieth century Art Deco architecture in North Carolina. Designed by renowned architects, Shreve and Lamb, the twenty-two-story building was erected between 1928 and 1929 and remains a prominent feature in the Winston-Salem skyline. It is an excellent example of the Art Deco-style ziggurat skyscraper and was from 1929 until 1966, the tallest building in the State. The architectural significance of the exterior lies in its well-balanced masses and gauged setbacks, as well as in its architectural detailing which consists of limestone veneer, ornamental copper panels, stone pilasters, tobacco-leaf- and -flower-inspired stone spandrels, and a two-story main portal with nickel silver embellishment and similarly tobacco-inspired tracery, together which provide it a good degree of integrity and distinguish it from other Art Deco contemporaries in the state.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria