National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Crystal City Internment Camp
Reference Number 14000474
State Texas
County Zavala
Town Crystal City
Street Address Three separate parcels within the area roughly bounded by N . 7th Ave ., Airport Dr., N . 12th Ave ., and Popeye Ln.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 8/2/2014
Areas of Significance Military, Politics/Government, Ethnic Heritage: Asian/Japanese and Euro-American
Link to full file
Shocked by the December 7, 1941, Empire of Japan attack on Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, that propelled the United States into World War II, one federal government response to the war was the incarceration of thousands of Japanese and Japanese Americans on the West Coast and the territory of Hawaii. More than 120,000 Issei (first generation, Japanese immigrants) and Nisei (second generation, U.S. citizens) were forcibly moved, primarily to War Relocation Authority camps across the country. These internees shared a common loss of freedom with the thousands of Japanese, German, and Italian Americans and Enemy Aliens detained in Department of Justice (DOJ) camps through its Alien Enemy Control Unit program. The differences between these two federal government programs were far more complex than simply administrative, but one key result was the same. Thousands of people were removed from their homes and lost their personal freedom, often for the duration of the war, far more often than not without substantial proof of disloyalty to the U.S.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria