National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name MacDonald Pass Airway Beacon
Reference Number 14000462
State Montana
County Powell
Town Helena
Street Address U.S. Highway 12, 12 miles west of Helena on MacDonald Pass
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 7/29/2014
Areas of Significance TRANSPORTATION
Link to full file
When constructed in 1935, the MacDonald Pass Airway Beacon and associated outbuildings functioned as one of the Northern Transcontinental Airway's 18 beacons strung across Montana from east to west, a critical navigational aid along the Northern Transcontinental Airway. The beacons' lights served as a critical navigational aid, by marking the air corridor between the Minneapolis and Seattle. The Northern Transcontinental Airway constituted a federally-sanctioned route to carry both passengers and air mail. The beacon guided airplanes over the Continental Divide west of Helena.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria