National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Miller Farmstead
Reference Number 14000449
State Tennessee
County Carter
Town Roan Mountain
Street Address Located within Roan Mountain State Park on Dave Miller Hollow Road
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 7/25/2014
Areas of Significance Architecture, Agriculture, Exploration/Settlement
Link to full file
The Dave Miller Farmstead on Dave Miller Hollow Road located in the Roan Mountain State Park off of County Road 143 in Carter County, Tennessee is eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A for its local significance in Appalachian agricultural history and the history of settlement patterns in the Appalachian region of the state and under Criterion C for architecture as an excellent example of a functional Appalachian style farmhouse and farm buildings. The farmhouse and associated outbuildings reflect the patterns of use of the Appalachian lifestyle of subsistence farming in secluded mountainous regions from the early to mid-twentieth century and continues to feature many of their original materials and elements with minimal alterations. From the early 1900s until the time the property was sold to the Smithdeal family in 1962 and then again in 1969 to the Roan Mountain State Park, the farmstead as a whole remained relatively unchanged as the mid-20th century decades gave way to mechanization and modern conveniences of agricultural practices. The field patterns, pasture areas and the apple orchard were worked in much the same ways they had been since they were planted-with horse and manual labor.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria