National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Harmon and LeValley NW Historic District
Reference Number 14000284
State Iowa
County Bremer
Town Waverly
Street Address Area roughly by Cedar River, 1st Ave. NW, 7th St. NW & 6th Ave. NW
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 6/6/2014
Link to full file
The Harmon and LeValley NW Historic District is significant under Criteria A, B, and C at the local level. The district serves as a representative example of the residential neighborhoods that developed in Waverly's four residential quadrants located northwest, northeast, southeast and southwest of the central business district from the late 19th through the mid-20th century. Located in the northwest quadrant in the blocks immediately north of the core of the west half of the business district, the Harmon and LeValley NW Historic District provided housing for working class families as well as merchants, professionals, Wartburg College faculty and staff, and retired farmers. The neighborhood was home to hundreds of German immigrant families with many members of St. Paul's Lutheran Church and the First Evangelical Church, both German-speaking congregations. Successive generations of neighborhood residents enjoyed upwardly mobile careers manifest in their residences. Architecturally, the residences demonstrated the aesthetic choices of the late 19th and early to mid 20th century through the adaptation of popular architectural styles and vernacular building forms. The neighborhood contains a fine collection of post-1907 concrete block houses and was home to the manufacturer/contractor who promoted the use of this material from his block factory just outside of the district. In several instances local and regional architects as well as experienced local building contractors were called upon to erect well-designed and wellcrafted dwellings and institutional buildings. These aspects of historic and architectural significance make the northwest quadrant's Harmon and LeValley NW Historic District stand out as significant at the local level.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria