National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Brooklyn Navy Yard Historic District
Reference Number 14000261
State New York
County Kings
Town Brooklyn
Street Address Little Street, Evans Street, Hudson Avenue , Navy Street Flushing Avenue , Williamsburg Street W Wallabout Bay
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 5/22/2014
Link to full file
The Brooklyn Navy Yard Historic District, located on the western tip of the coast of Long Island in Brooklyn, is nationally significant under criterion A in the area of military history as a collection of nineteenth- and twentieth-century industrial, residential, and institutional resources associated with the establishment and development of one of the nation's oldest naval installations. Developed in the early nineteenth century as one of the nation's six original federal shipyards, the nominated district represents six distinct periods of naval history over more than 140 years.1 Established on a fortytwo acre site in 1801, the shipyard evolved through a variety of land transactions, during which the navy both purchased and sold land, reclaimed land, created and filled channels, built and rebuilt dry docks and piers, and constructed newer and more efficient buildings, gradually and successively changing the configuration of an eighteenth-century harbor and marshland to meet the technical needs of shipbuilders whose product changed dramatically over the period of significance.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria