National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Matthews, Mary H., Lustron House
Reference Number 14000249
State Arkansas
County Pulaski
Town Little Rock
Street Address 5021 Maryland Avenue
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 5/23/2014
Areas of Significance Architecture
Link to full file
The Mary H. Matthews Lustron House is a good example of the porcelain-enameled steel Lustron House of the late 1940s, which was developed as a pre-fabricated house that could be erected cheaply and quickly on its site. The Lustron House was hoped to be mass-produced and was also hoped to be a house type that could aid in alleviating the post-World-War-II housing shortage that was a problem across the country. By the end of 1949, twelve Lustron homes had been shipped to Arkansas, and the Matthews House is one of four known surviving examples in the state, and one of two known to survive in Little Rock. As a rare surviving example of a Lustron House in Arkansas, the Mary H. Matthews Lustron House is being nominated to the National Register of Historic Places with statewide significance under Criterion C.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria