National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Cavalier Hotel
Reference Number 14000239
State Virginia
County Virginia Beach
Town Virginia Beach
Street Address 4200 Pacific Avenue
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 5/19/2014
Link to full file
The Cavalier Hotel has stood overlooking the Virginia Beach, Virginia, oceanfront since 1927. It is the most iconic building in the city, representing its development from a sleepy seaside town to a nationally known beach resort. This excellent example of Jeffersonian inspired Classical Revival architecture is the last of the historic, pre-World War II beachfront hotels in the city, and represents an era of American history which has nearly vanished. It is locally significant under Criterion C for Architecture. The hotel was built during the Roaring Twenties and embodied that era with its luxury and elite clientele. What made The Cavalier rare, as compared to other grand, large city hotels of the era, was its site overlooking the A dan tic and its dominance over the then simple town of Virginia Beach. The embodiment of this period of American history, and this elite level of entertainment and hotel service in a unique location, as compared to other contemporary grand hotels, also makes this resource locally significant under Criterion A for Recreation and Social History. The Period of Significance runs from its construction in 1927 until1942 when it was turned over to the Navy to serve as a radar training school.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria