National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Salem Avenue--Roanoke Automotive Commercial Historic District (Boundary Increase II)
Reference Number 14000235
State VA
County Roanoke
Town Roanoke (Independent City)
Street Address 400 & 500 blks. of Campbell Ave., SW.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/22/2014
Link to full file
The Salem Avenue/Roanoke Automotive Commercial Historic District is locally significant under Criterion A in the areas of Commerce, Industry, and Community Planning & Development. Most of the buildings within the district, including the two buildings added with this boundary increase, are representative of typical commercial buildings of their day and illustrate the impressive growth in the city during the early to mid-twentieth century. Though generally without distinctive architecture, they illustrate the manner in which the city's economy blossomed to incorporate a wide range of firms, many of them quite small in scale. These buildings were constructed during the district's period of significance, ca. 1909-1958. The period of significance begins with the area's transition from residential to commercial and light industrial uses. From the 1920s to the 1950s, numerous automobile related businesses and dealers were established in the district. The period of significance ends with the construction of the most recent commercial building that contributes to the district's historical significance.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria