National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Millbank
Reference Number 14000233
State Virginia
County Frederick
Town Winchester
Street Address 3100 Berryville Pike
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 5/21/2014
Areas of Significance MILITARY
Link to full file
Located in Frederick County, Virginia, on nearly 3 acres, Millbank stands as one of the few remaining antebellum buildings in the Third Battle of Winchester battlefield area and is closely tied to the victory of the Union Army. The house has great interpretive potential for its role as a witness to and participant in the battle. Millbank is locally significant under Criterion A for its function as a temporary medical aid station for the Union Army on the day of the battle (September 19, 1864) and for several days afterward. The house and surrounding fields provided essential medical care for the Union Army until the Sheridan Field Hospital could be assembled near Shawnee Springs on the 22nd and 23rd of September. Daniel T. Wood, the owner of Millbank during the Civil War, joined other Quakers in the area as a Union sympathizer, evidenced by a protection order issued for his property in 1863 by General Robert H. Milroy. Wood's loyalties exemplify a trend among Quakers, who often broke vows of pacifism to support the Union and fight for the abolition of slavery. Mill bank's period of significance is September 19-23, 1864, encompassing its direct association with the Third Battle of Winchester.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria