National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Hoots Milling Company Roller Mill
Reference Number 14000227
State North Carolina
County Forsyth
Town Winston-Salem
Street Address 1151 Canal Drive
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 5/19/2014
Areas of Significance Architecture
Link to full file
Hoots Milling Company Roller Mill is locally significant under Criterion C for Architecture as an intact example of traditional roller mill design. The mill and warehouse's construction method reflects the perseverance of heavy timber post and beam structural members used in combination with dimensional lumber wall , floor, and roof systems. Fire-resistant metal wall cladding and roofing unifies the long, rectangular building's two parts, as does the shed-roofed loading dock supported by square wood posts that extends across much of the south elevation. The mill's most significant feature related to its original function is the gabled grain elevator that rises above the side-gable roof. The complex includes a one-story, metal-sided, front-gable-roofed, 1930s warehouse that stands east of the circa 1937 warehouse as well as a one-story flat-roofed 1950s warehouse that spans the distance between the two earlier buildings. The property's period of significance ends circa 193 7 upon Zeno Hoots' completion of the adjacent warehouse that tripled the building's size . Hoots Milling Company Roller Mill is Winston-Salem's sole surviving facility erected in the twentieth-century to process and store grain.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria