National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Lake Harnet Methodist Episcopal Church
Reference Number 14000217
State Minnesota
County Hennepin
Town Minneapolis
Street Address 4401 Upton Avenue South
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 5/19/2014
Areas of Significance ARCHITECTURE
Link to full file
Completed in 1916, Lake Harriet Methodist Episcopal Church was built during a formative period for both the Linden Hills neighborhood and the City of Minneapolis. The structure contributes to the understanding of the historical and cultural foundations of the area as it is emblematic of he Classical Revival style and City Beautiful movement, both inspired by the Chicago World's Fair of 1893. Execution of Lake Harriet Methodist Episcopal Church's style was in context with Minneapolis' desire for classic and grand architecture via its City Beautiful attempts, of which few structures/plans were executed. The building is locally significant and eligible for listing in the National Register under Criterion C for architecture and Criteria Consideration A for being a religious property, as the church is one of few local extant examples of the Classical Revival architecture built as an ecclesiastical entity. The period of significance is 1916, the year the church was constructed.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria