National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Waverly East Bremer Avenue Commercial Historic District
Reference Number 14000174
State Iowa
County Bremer
Town Waverly
Street Address Roughly E Bremer Ave-Cedar River to Rail Trail + 100 bl 1 St SE, 100 bl 2 St SE, 200 bl 1 Ave SE
Multiple Property Submission Name Iowa's Main Street Commercial Architecture
Status Listed 4/24/2014
Link to full file
The Waverly East Bremer Avenue Commercial Historic District is significant under Criterion A as the commercial heart of this community and Bremer County, from 1855 when the first store building still extant was constructed on the east bank of the Cedar River, to 1964, the arbitrary 50-year date within the National Register rules_ 1 Throughout this period, the district has offered area residents a convenient central place in which to buy and sell goods, engage in banking and deal-making, provide legal and medical services, and mingle with each other for social, recreational, and civic and patriotic purposes. The district reflects the patterns of commerce over 159 years as merchants, craftspeople, and professionals adjusted how they offered their services and marketed their goods and wares_ The district's buildings reflect the continual accommodations to evolving customer preferences and the economic dynamics of the surrounding agricultural region, as well as the improving transportation modes during the period of significance. The district also reflects the persistence of civic life in a small, Midwestern county-seat city, where the sidewalks under covered storefront windows invited conversation and window shopping and the wide main street accommodated traditional celebratory parades. The town's commercial district remains a living, vital embodiment of the small-city Iowa main street district. The Waverly Commercial Historic District also qualifies as a -Property Type 1: Commercial District- and meets the registration requirements set forth in the Iowa's Main Street Commercial Architecture Multiple Property Document (2002) under Criterion A by reflecting the development and growth of the city of Waverly as the county seat and a regional market entrepot. The statewide historic context within that MPD is relevant to Waverly's historic downtown.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria