National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name New Helvetia Historic District
Reference Number 14000109
State California
County Sacramento
Town Sacramento
Street Address 752 Revere Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 4/4/2014
Link to full file
The New Helvetia Historic District is eligible for listing in the National Register at the local level under Criteria A, B, and C. It meets the registration requirements of the National Register of Historic Places Multiple Property Submission (MPS) Public Housing in the United States, 1933-1949 and is specifically listed as a Defense Housing project in the Multiple Property Documentation Fonn. 11 In the area of Social History, New Helvetia represents an important local attempt to improve the housing conditions of African Americans, and in the area of Ethnic Heritage is associated with the career of Nathaniel Colley, the first African American attorney in Sacramento, who had a significant role in the effort to implement fair housing practices. In the area of Architecture, the buildings were designed by a coalition of Sacramento's Master architects-Charles Dean, Leonard Starks, Ed Flanders, and Harry Devine, Sr.-working together as a Board of Architects, the only project on which they Qollaborated. Periods of significance are 1942 to 1949 for Criterion A in association with the MPS, 1951 to 1952 for Criterion B in association with Nathaniel Colley's efforts to end discrimination at New Helvetia, and 1942 for Criterion C when construction was completed.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria