National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Haight-Bridgewater House
Reference Number 14000080
State Montana
County Lewis and Clark
Town Helena
Street Address 502 Peosta
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 3/14/2014
Link to full file
Constructed in 1890, the Haight Bridgwater House's modest architecture belies the significant history it represents. Built as a residence during the height of Helena's prosperity and growth, the house represents one of the oldest residences associated with the 1887-platted Broadwater #1 Addition, and is tied to the city's continued community planning and development through the late nineteenth century. During this period, both the house and the neighborhood addition itself were situated at the northernmost reaches of the city's ambitious plan for expansion and development. Through the late 19th and early-mid 20th centuries, the building served as an important gathering place and touchstone for both the Broadwater neighborhood and the African-American community in the city, including a brief tenure as a Baptist mission house. Further, the house embraces the story of three women, who each in their own right, faced and overcame adversity during their time in Helena. Their experiences contribute to our understanding of the social history of Helena during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. For these reasons, the building is eligible for listing in the National Register under Criterion A.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria