National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Cottonwood Creek Bridge
Reference Number 14000079
State Montana
County Fallon
Town Ismay
Street Address Milepost 2.2 on Montana Secondary Highway 320 (Ismay Road)
Multiple Property Submission Name Montana's Historic Timber Stringer Bridges, 1915-1960
Status Listed 3/14/2014
Areas of Significance Engineering, Transportation
Link to full file
The Cottonwood Creek Bridge is eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places under criteria A and C. The bridge is eligible under Criterion A as representative of the type of structure used by the state and counties between 1915 and 1960 to provide access to railroad stations and primary state-maintained highways from county farm-to-market roads. Timber stringer bridges were typically used to span relatively narrow obstacles such as streams and ravines. The Cottonwood Creek Bridge is emblematic of the standard timber stringer bridge in design and use between 1915 and 1960. The structure was built during the peak years of timber stringer bridge construction from 1926-1941 when at least 1,242 such bridges were constructed in Montana. The Cottonwood Creek Bridge is one of only a very few intact examples of this style remaining on Montana's primary, secondary, and county roads.

Any Associated Files
MPS Cover


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria