National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Wittenberg University Historic District
Reference Number 14000040
State Ohio
County Clark
Town Springfield
Street Address Roughly bounded by Bill Edwards Dr., N. Fountain, W. Ward, & Plum
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 3/4/2014
Link to full file
The Wittenberg University Historic District is eligible for the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A for significance in the areas of education and community development, and under Criterion C for architecture. Wittenberg University, located in the north central portion of Springfield, Ohio, was one of the earliest Lutheran affiliated colleges in America and one of the earliest colleges founded in Ohio (1845). The establishment of the college in Springfield illustrated the differences that emerged within the Lutheran Church in the United States by the mid-19th century. Reacting against the mainstream Lutheran ideology of maintaining the dominance of German culture and language within the church and its educational institutions, a group of pastors broke away and created the English Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Ohio and Wittenberg College. Establishing both a seminary for the training of clergy and a general institution for higher education , the College emphasized the English language as the tool to integrate German immigrants into American society and forge a bond with communities, such as Springfield.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria