National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Sievers School
Reference Number 14000031
State South Dakota
County Faulk
Town Rockham
Street Address Northeast corner jct. 362nd Ave. and 170th St.
Multiple Property Submission Name Schools in South Dakota
Status Listed 2/25/2014
Link to full file
Sievers School in Hillsdale Township, Faulk County, South Dakota is eligible for the National Register of Historic Places under Criteria A and C, as part of the multiple property submission, "Schools in South Dakota." The school is significant under Criterion A in the context of education, locally representing rural educational development and school establishment in South Dakota starting in the late nineteenth century and continuing into the twentieth century. Sievers School is also significant under Criterion C in the area of architecture, as an excellent local representative of an early rural schoolhouse construction-type built in South Dakota in the mid-1880s. This one-room school, constructed in 1886, is the only remaining example of a rural oneroom school in Hillsdale Township, and former Hope District No. 10, that retains its original location and materials.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria