National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Minnesota and International Railway Trestle at Blackduck
Reference Number 13001144
State Minnesota
County Beltrami
Town Blackduck
Street Address 0.25 miles north of JCT CSAH 39
Multiple Property Submission Name Railroads in Minnesota, 1862-1956
Status Listed 2/5/2014
Areas of Significance ENGINEERING
Link to full file
The M&I Railway was constructed between the years 1900 and 1907. It operated as a subsidiary of the Northern Pacific and in 1900 was incorporated to provide a rail link between Bemidji and Koochiching (now International Falls). The land in this region of north central Minnesota is dense pine forest punctuated with terrain comprised of swamp and marshland. The marshland proved difficult to traverse and required the erection of timber trestles to span the otherwise impassable sinkholes frequently encountered on the route. The M&I Railway Trestle at Blackduck is historically significant for its method of construction and the considerable length required to span Coburn Creek and the surrounding marsh. It is the longest structure on the former M&I and is widely recognized as the most difficult bridge the railroad had to build. It is eligible for the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion C: Engineering. Local significance was attained in 1902, the year construction was completed. The railroad trestle is significant within the Minnesota Statewide thematic context Railroads & Agricultural Development, 1870-1940; Northern Minnesota Lumbering, 1870-1930s; and Railroads of Minnesota, 1862-1956.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria