National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Prosperity Cemetery
Reference Number 13001097
State South Carolina
County Newberry
Town Prosperity
Street Address McNeary Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 1/15/2014
Areas of Significance Art
Link to full file
The Prosperity Cemetery, in Prosperity, Newberry County, South Carolina, is eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places at the local level of significance under Criterion C in the Area of Significance of Art as an excellent example of nineteenth- and early-twentieth century gravestone art in a small town or rural cemetery of the South Carolina piedmont. Prosperity Cemetery is an outstanding example of a backcountry cemetery, containing a concentration of markers -signed- by local merchants, marble yard owners, and stonecutters. In fact, unlike the White brothers of Charleston (William T., Robert D., and Edwin R. White), who provided so many examples of notable gravestone art throughout the state throughout the nineteenth century, in cities such as Columbia, Spartanburg, Greenville, and Beaufort, Prosperity's grave art is almost exclusively local. The cemetery contains approximately one dozen -signed- markers. J.R. Leavell, L.M. Spears, and H. Miller all hailed from the nearby city of Newberry in Newberry County, South Carolina. J.R. Leavell and L.M. Spears were particularly well known locally, not only as a merchant and a stone cutter respectively, but also as outstanding community members and veterans of the Civil War.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria