National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Louise Cotton Mill
Reference Number 13001027
State North Carolina
County Mechlenburg
Town Charlotte
Street Address 1101 Hawthorne Lane
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/31/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture
Link to full file
Louise Cotton Mill meets National Register of Historic Places Criterion C in the area of Architecture as an important example of textile mill architecture in Charlotte. When it was built in 1897 it was the largest cotton mill in Charlotte. 9 It was substantially enlarged in 1901 and the additions created aU-shaped plan with courtyard, which was not found in other Charlotte mills. 10 The use of slow-burning construction methods, brick construction, heavy-timber framing, large and plentiful windows and monitor roofs with clerestory windows in the original mill and its additions represent the best practices of textile mill design and technology at the time for dealing with fire resistance, structural strength, vibration, natural light, and ventilation. It is one of only three intact cotton mills that survive in the city from the late nineteenth century and one of two surviving mills that were built or expanded in 1901. It retains significant architectural integrity of its historic location, association, setting, feeling, design, materials, and workmanship. Louise Mill operated as a cotton mill from 1897 until 1957, when it was closed. The period of significance is from 1897, the date that the original building was completed, until 1901, the year the mill was enlarged.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria