National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Crockett Tavern Museum
Reference Number 13000948
State Tennessee
County Hamblen
Town Morristown
Street Address 2002 Morningside Drive
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/18/2013
Link to full file
The Crockett Tavern Museum is eligible to the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A in the area of Recreation/Entertainment from 1956 to 1963 at the local level of significance. It also fulfills the requirements of Criterion Consideration F, as a result of its status as a building erected as a monument to an important historical figure that has come to symbolize the value placed upon the individual and is widely recognized as a reminder of the enduring principles or contributions values by the generation that erected the monument.2 The Hamblen County Chapter of the Association for Preservation of Tennessee Antiquities broke ground on the site in 1956 and opened a museum in 1958 to commemorate David/Davy Crockett. The sites contemporary significance is as an illustrative example of the mid-century American concept of pioneer history, as well as a direct reflection of the periods cultural values. The museum has continued to operate on that site since 1958, and the contributing resources retain the requisite integrity necessary for the property to honor its historic associations. The period of significance ends in 1963, in compliance with National Register guidelines.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria