National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Old Fourth Ward SE Historic District
Reference Number 13000922
State Iowa
County Bremer
Town Waverly
Street Address "Area roughly by Cedar River, 2""d Ave. SE, 4th St. SE & 4th Ave. SE"
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/18/2013
Link to full file
The Old Fourth Ward SE Historic District is significant under Criteria A, 8 and C at the local level. The district serves as a representative example of the residential neighborhoods that developed in Waverly's four residential quadrants located northwest, northeast, southeast and southwest of the central business district from the late 19th through the mid-20th century. Located in the southeast quadrant in the blocks immediately south of the core of the business district, the Old Fourth Ward District provided housing for working class families as well as business and professional leaders. Many of these individuals resided in the neighborhood for several generations while establishing long-lived businesses or making substantial contributions to the local economy and civic life of the community. Architecturally, the residences demonstrated the aesthetic choices of the late 19th and early 20th century through the adaptation of popular architectural styles and vernacular building forms. In a number of instances local and regional architects as well as experienced local building contractors were called upon to erect well-designed and well-crafted dwellings. Though several other residential neighborhoods in Waverly likely qualify for the National Register, these aspects of historic and architectural significance make the southeast quadrant's Old Fourth Ward SE Historic District standout as significant at the local level.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria