National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Hansen- Hagedorn Barn
Reference Number 13000916
State South Dakota
County Lincoln
Town Tea
Street Address 46954 272nd St
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/11/2013
Link to full file
The Hansen-Hagedorn Barn is locally significant under Criterion A and C in the area of Agricultural History and Architecture. The barn is a Dutch gambrel one-and-a-half story barn with a concrete foundation, a single alley through the ground floor, a hayloft above, red-painted lapped siding with white trim, and a lean-to on the west elevation. It historically had one horse stall, ten cow stanchions, and an enclosed room once used for lambing. The construction date is approximately 1916 because Offset Hinges like those on the hayloft door were offered for sale in Louden Machinery Company catalogs in 1915 and 1916 (see Image 1, pg. 5), and new owners acquired the property in 1916.7 Despite modern materials on the roof and rear elevation, the barn retains excellent integrity on the major elevations including elements like board-and-batten Dutch doors and small four-pane windows. It is a relatively small barn, being twenty-eight feet wide by thirty-two feet long using an adaptive braced rafter system in the hayloft, and well represents the early twentieth-century agricultural history around Tea, Lincoln County where farmers operated mixed crop and livestock operations on smaller-sized farms.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria