National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Hallock, Noah, House
Reference Number 13000913
State New York
County Suffolk
Town Rocky Point
Street Address 172 Hallock Landing Road
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/11/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture, Settlement
Link to full file
The Noah Hallock Homestead, a pre-Revolutionary War era vernacular Cape Cod style dwelling located in Rocky Point, Suffolk County, is significant under Criteria A and C for its association with distinctive settlement patterns and architectural forms and construction practices associated with Long Island's historic north central coastal region. These settlement patterns developed over a span of three centuries beginning in the mid-17th century and were established initially by the original settlers acquiring title to their lands from Native American inhabitants and exchanging ownership of large land holdings among themselves. Later development patterns reflected changing methods and routes of communication and transportation, as well as other important economic factors such as local resources and the available labor force. Beginning with a reliance on the use of watercraft on Long Island Sound (the so-called "North Sea"), communities like Rocky Point were greatly effected by the expansion and improvement of travel in the 18th century. The final stage of development in the historic period railroad construction in the mid-19th century facilitated travel and commerce for many rural villages like Rocky Point by providing more efficient access to metropolitan New York markets for their farm products, cordwood and other goods.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria