National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Jewish Center of Coney Island, the
Reference Number 13000908
State New York
County Kings
Town Brooklyn
Street Address 2915 Ocean Parkway
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/11/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture, Ethnic Heritage: Jewish
Link to full file
The Jewish Center of Coney Island, built between 1929 and 1931, is significant under criterion A for its association with the Jewish Community Center movement of the late 1910s and 1920s and as an indication of the development of Brighton Beach, at the southern edge of Brooklyn, as a new, middle-class residential neighborhood with a substantial Jewish population in the 1920s. The Jewish Community Center movement had its beginnings in the mid-nineteenth century when congregations established centers that provided social and cultural services to the newly arrived and disadvantaged members of the Jewish community. These new centers included schools and places of worship, and were modeled after Christian establishments like institutional churches and the Young Mens Christian Association (YMCA). By the turn of the twentieth century, controversy between the religious and secular Jewish communities and a rapidly increasing Jewish population necessitated a new type of facility where the three traditionally separated institutions of synagogue, school, and community center were combined. The Jewish Community Center movement is highly significant in the story of American Judaism as it marked a new and intrinsically American development in synagogue architecture.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria