National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Edinburg WPA Auditorium
Reference Number 13000863
State North Dakota
County Walsh
Town Edinburg
Street Address 67 Main Street
Multiple Property Submission Name Depression-Era Federal Relief Construction in North Dakota, 1931-1943 MPS
Status Listed 11/7/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture, Social History, Entertainment/Recreation
Link to full file
The Edinburg WP A Auditorium is historically significant at a statewide level under National Register Criterion A for its association with Depression-era federal work relief programs, and locally under Criterion C for its methods of construction and characteristics of architectural style. Its statewide significance from 1937 to 1938 under Criterion A derives from importance of the auditorium in local employment and economic recovery, and locally from 1939 to 1963 in recreation and entertainment, and as an example of a particular architectural type within the context of smalltown auditoriums. Subsequent to the period of significance, the building has retained a fairly high degree of design integrity through its adaptive use rehabilitation and use as a hardware and general store that serves as a focal point for local history, heritage, and ecotourism. The property retains its historic integrity of design, setting, materials, workmanship, feeling, and associations as a distinct example of a stucco exterior, wood-framed longspan auditorium constructed under the WPA program as a work relief project.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria