National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Galena Historic District (Boundary Increase and Decrease)
Reference Number 13000854
State Illinois
County Jo Daviess
Town Galena
Street Address Roughly bounded by Davis Creek and Fourth Street; then along Fifth and Adams Streets to Field and Wann Streets; all of Dewey Avenue; then along North Dodge, Fulton and N. Hickory to Hill and Ridge Streets; from Ridge to Spring and South West Streets; from here to South Street and then to the end of South Bench.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/23/2013
Areas of Significance Industry - Criterion A, Commerce - Criterion A, Transportation - Criterion A, Architecture- Criterion C
Link to full file
The Galena Historic District represents a microcosm of the American experience between the years 1820 and 1930. Within that period of significance are included the first major mineral rush in U.S. history, the growth ofthe largest steamboat hub north of St. Louis, the development of a huge wholesaling, retailing and commercial center, the appearance of Ulysses S. Grant and the Civil War, and the subsequent decline of Galena into a local trade center. The buildings, visually cohesive and largely intact for the entire period, tell not just Galena's story, but the story of the nation. This nomination form is an amendment to the original 1969 nomination and provides additional documentation and justification for a boundary modification to better match Galena's story with available resources. The District is significant under Criterion A in the areas of Commerce, Industry and Transportation; and Criterion C in the area of Architecture.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria