National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Jones Family Historic District
Reference Number 13000846
State Florida
County Miami-Dade
Town Islandia
Street Address Biscayne National Park (BISC)
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/23/2013
Link to full file
The Jones Family Historic District is significant at local levels under National Register Criteria A and D. Under Criterion A, the district provides a unique example of exploration and settlement of the Florida Keys at the turn of the twentieth century. The homesite and support agricultural structures and landscape features on Porgy Key along with agricultural-related resources and artifacts on Totten Key provide evidence of the family's early settlement in this harsh maritime environment. The site's resources are a testament to the creativity and ingenuity of the Jones family in adapting this site for residential use and carrying out a successful agricultural enterprise. Under Criterion A, the district is also significant in the area of conservation. The Jones heirs played a significant role in the establishment of the National Monument through the sale of their property in 1970. By electing to sell Porgy Key and Totten Key to the National Park Service, rather than local developers, the family assisted in the future designation of the Biscayne National Park, which continues to protect and preserve this important natural landscape. The district is significant in archeology under Criterion D. As many of the resources are in a somewhat ruinous state with remnants visible above ground, there is a strong likelihood that the district may yield additional information associated with these known sites, as well as the potential for the discovery of additional sites.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria