National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Plaza House Apartments
Reference Number 13000837
State Missouri
County Jackson
Town Kansas City
Street Address 4712 Roanoke Parkway
Multiple Property Submission Name Working-Class and Middle-Income Apartment Buildings in Kansas City, Missouri
Status Listed 10/16/2013
Areas of Significance ARCHITECTURE
Link to full file
The Plaza House Apartments in Kansas City, Jackson County, Missouri is eligible for inclusion on the National Register under Criterion C for local significance in the area of ARCHITECTURE. It meets the registration requirements defined by the MPDF Working-Class and Middle-Income Apartment Buildings in Kansas City, Missouri for the High Rise Apartment Building sub-type . Designed by the prominent local architectural firm of Voskamp and Slezak, it is an early and definitive example of a high-rise apartment building in the Modern Movement style. Constructed in 1955, the period of significance, the eleven-story building contains seventy-two apartments arranged around aT-shaped, double loaded corridor. Defined by its distinct rejection of historic elements, geometric massing, and juxtaposed horizontal and vertical emphasis, the building precisely represents the Modern Movement and retains excellent integrity of character defining features, both on the interior and the exterior. Furthermore, the Plaza House Apartments stands as a testament to the progress and expansion of Kansas City and the impact of highrise apartment buildings on local settlement patterns.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria