National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Forest Grove School No. 5
Reference Number 13000831
State Iowa
County Scott
Town Bettendorf
Street Address 24040 195th St.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/16/2013
Areas of Significance Education
Link to full file
Forest Grove School No.5 is of local significance as a one-room school under criterion A as an example of rural schools in Iowa and of the national trends in education. Forest Grove School No. 5 was the fifth independent school district formed in Pleasant Valley Township and served to educate students in grades kindergarten to 8th grade beginning in 1873, when the schoolhouse was built, to 1957, when it closed. A photo taken in 1881 of a schoolhouse near Davenport, lA, with very similar structural features as Forest Grove School No. 511 suggests that a common design plan may have been used for construction of rural schools in eastern Iowa during the late 19th century. Unfortunately, Forest Grove School No.5 is the last representative of these original five rural schoolhouses that once served the early settlers of Pleasant Valley Township. The preservation of the original form and location of Forest Grove School No . 5, with its three pieces of original playground equipment (Photos #9 and #10) provide physical evidence of early education in Iowa. Forest Grove School No. 5 remains a cherished landmark of our local heritage representing 84 years of education in Iowa.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria