National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Des Moines Building
Reference Number 13000829
State Iowa
County Polk
Town Des Moines
Street Address 405 Sixth Avenue
Multiple Property Submission Name Architectural Legacy of Proudfoot and Bird in Iowa, 1882-1940
Status Listed 10/16/2013
Areas of Significance ARCHITECTURE
Link to full file
Completed and first occupied in 1931, the Des Moines Building is significant, locally and under National Register Criterion C, because of its architectural style. The building's massing, upper floor setbacks, and main lobby call attention to the influence of Art Deco styling on its design. The Des Moines Building is significant because of its architectural form as a skyscraper. It added a key component to the Sixth A venue Canyon, one of the densest and most fully developed urban spaces in Iowa. The Des Moines Building also calls attention to Proudfoot, Rawson, Souers & Thomas, a venerable Des Moines-based architectural firm, which designed the building and demonstrated in it the ability to adapt to new architectural ideas .


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria