National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Drayton Arms Apartments
Reference Number 13000826
State Georgia
County Chatham
Town Savannah
Street Address 102 E. Liberty Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/16/2013
Link to full file
The Drayton Arms Apartments is significant under National Register Criterion C at the state level of significance in the area of architecture as one of the earliest and most important examples of the Modern Movement in Georgia. Designed by the prominent local architectural firm of Cletus W. Bergen and William P. Bergen Architects, and completed in 1951, the building is an exemplar of modernism with its basic geometric form, emphasis on modern materials, and lack of ornament or references to past architectural styles. The building held the distinction of being the second tallest building in Savannah and the first building in the state to be fully air-conditioned. Three innovative technologies that were incorporated into the design make the building significant: building-wide air-conditioning, a revolutionary reinforced-concrete structural system, and heat-absorbing window glass. The building is significant under National Register Criterion A in the area of politics/government as an example of the Federal Housing Administration's Section 608 postwar mortgage program that financed single-family and multi-family housing projects at a time of severe housing shortages in the country. The program operated from 1942-1954. The design and construction of Drayton Arms Apartments were a result of the program's financing guidelines, which dictated specific architectural requirements and provided incentives for the construction of efficiency units, in addition to larger one-bedroom units, in higher-priced neighborhoods.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria