National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Burlington Cemetery Chapel
Reference Number 13000824
State Wisconsin
County Racine
Town Burlington
Street Address 701 South Browns Lake Drive
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/9/2013
Areas of Significance ARCHITECTURE
Link to full file
The Burlington Cemetery Chapel was first identified as potentially eligible for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places in the Architectural & Intensive Survey of the City of Burlington completed by Legacy Architecture, Inc. in 2012. It was identified for its late representation of the Richardsonian Romanesque style, having a high degree of integrity, and having local significance under the National Register Criterion C for Architecture. Utilizing the Wisconsin Historical Society's Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin, additional research centered on evaluating the chapel utilizing the Richardsonian Romanesque style subsection of the Architecture study unit of the aforementioned text and other sources. The results of this research are detailed below and show that the Burlington Cemetery Chapel possesses local significance under National Register Criterion Cas an excellent late example of the Richardsonian Romanesque style. Fine, intact examples of this style utilized for small buildings are believed to be quite rare in the state. The period of significance corresponds with the building's date of completion- 1922.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria