National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name St. John the Divine Catholic Church
Reference Number 13000820
State Kansas
County Wyandotte
Town Kansas City
Street Address 2511 Metropolitan Avenue
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/9/2013
Areas of Significance Ethnic Heritage: Hispanic
Link to full file
St. John the Divine Catholic Church, 2511 Metropolitan Avenue in the Argentine neighborhood of Kansas City, Wyandotte County, is nominated to the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A, significant at the local level in the area Ethnic History. For more than 50 years, St. John the Divine has served as the centerpiece of religious life for the Mexican American Catholic community of the Argentine. The building was built in 1887 as a frame Methodist church. A 1903 flood damaged the building, which led to a major renovation from 1909 to 1913, expanding the building, adding a brick veneer and constructing a fac;ade bell tower. The Catholic Diocese acquired the building in 1937 as a mission. The parishes of St. John the Divine and Our Lady of Mount Carmel in Armourdale were consolidated following the collapse of the Mount Carmel church after the 1951 flood. St. John was again expanded to add office and residential space. The building was maintained and adorned by its parishioners, reflecting vernacular Mexican and Spanish art and culture. The property played a significant role in the religious and social community of Argentine.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria