National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Shaver. Herman and Allene, House
Reference Number 13000813
State Georgia
County Jones
Town Wayside Community
Street Address 1421 Monticello Highway
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/9/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture
Link to full file
The Herman and Allene Shaver House is significant in the area of architecture at the local level under National Register Criterion C because the 1936 house is an outstanding example of a rustic-style seasonal residence in rural Georgia. The rustic style, which was seldom built in Georgia, derives from the 19th-century work of Frederick Law Olmsted, Calvert Vaux, and H. H. Richardson, who were inspired by the landscape and used natural forms and materials to replace expected architectural details. The rustic style is characterized by the use of oversize rocks and boulders and hewn and unhewn logs. The style is closely associated with the dozens of camps that were built for wealthy industrialists in the Adirondack Mountains of upstate New York. Among the most influential builders in the New York area was William West Durant, who built numerous rustic-style camps in the last quarter ofthe 19th century. Among his best-known camps are Sagamore, Camp Uncas, and Camp Pine Knot, all built on Racquette Lake in Hamilton County, New York. Later, the rustic style was used extensively by the Civilian Conservation Corps in state and national parks, most famously in the lodges at western national parks, such as Glacier and Yellowstone.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria